2021-2022 National Medicaid|Medicare|CHIP
Oral Health Symposium


January 11th-12th, 2022





This continuing education activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the standards of the ADA Continuing Education Recognition Program (ADA CERP) through joint efforts between the American Dental Association and the Medicaid-CHIP State Dental Association.
The American Dental Association is an ADA CERP Recognized Provider. ADA CERP is a service of the American Dental Association to assist dental professionals in identifying quality providers of continuing dental education. ADA CERP does not approve or endorse individual courses or instructors, nor does it imply acceptance of credit hours by boards of dentistry. 
The American Dental Association designates this activity for 11.5 credit hours continuing education credits.

This website has been developed
with support from the
Health Resources and Services Administration,
Maternal Child Health Bureau

Feedback --- Accessibility --- Disclaimer
--- Contact MSDA



Structure and Strategy:  2015 Strategic Plan

Center for State Medicaid-CHIP Oral Health Program
Quality, Policy, & Financing

  Executive Director:
  Mary E. Foley, RDH, MPH
  2 Grove Street  
  Sandwich, MA 02563 

  Mail to:
  P.O. Box 1024
  Sandwich, MA 02563

  Phone: Cell- (508) 322-0557
  Office- (508) 322-0557
  Center Director:
  Martha Dellapenna, RDH, MEd

  Phone- (401) 575-8110


MSDA Vision

Optimal oral health for all Medicaid, Medicare and Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) beneficiaries.

MSDA Mission
To improve Medicaid, Medicare, and CHIP oral health programs by collaborating with key stakeholders, sharing resources and disseminating innovative strategies. 

MSDA seeks opportunities to:
  • Provide state and national leadership in the development of sound Medicaid/CHIP oral health policy.
  • Provide a support system to state and national Medicaid/CHIP dental program representatives.
  • Encourage innovation and collaboration among state and national Medicaid/CHIP dental program representatives.
  • Promote the integration of oral health and primary care in Medicaid/CHIP programs.
  • Promote an appropriate balance between the prevention and treatment of oral diseases and condition
The Association was founded in May of 2004, in Los Angeles, California, at a meeting for Medicaid representatives. Attendees voted to form an association that would advocate for the delivery of oral health care to the Medicaid-eligible population.
Board of Directors:
  • Scott Cashion, DDS - President
  • Sarah Finne, DMD - Immediate Past President [New Hampshire Medicaid]
  • Alani Jackson - Vice President [Massachusetts Medicaid]
  • Heather Miller - Secretary/Treasurer [California Medicaid]
  • Sam Zwechtenbaum, DDS - Director [Rhode IslandMedicaid]
  • Jaison Diaz -  Director [Washington State Medicaid]
  • Susan Coburn - Director [Vermont Medicaid]
  • Scott Cashion, Director, AAPD Representative 
  • Sid Whitman, DDS - Director, Associate Member Representative 
  • Kevin Thomas- Director, Group Member Representative [Elevate Oral Health
  • Jimmy Anthony - Director, Group Representative [Delta Dental of Arkansas]
bylaws, originally approved at the May 2005 Business Meeting, were amended in January 2021.